95% CI of A,C,E estimates in Twin model

9 replies [Last post]
Sabha's picture

Can anyone help me with the function or syntex needed to calculate the 95% CI for A,C,E estimates in the existing
UnivariateTwinAnalysis_MatrixRaw.R script.

Thanks in advance.

danioreo's picture
Hi, I followed

Hi, I followed UnivariateTwinAnalysis_PathRaw.R instead of UnivariateTwinAnalysis_MatrixRaw.R.

I'm pretty new to OpenMx and R. Could anyone help me generate the 95%CI for standardized A, C, E? Thanks!

RobK's picture
Add algebras to your mxModel and request CIs for them

Do you want confidence intervals for the standardized path coefficients connecting the latent A, C, and E to the manifest variables? Or do you want confidence intervals for the standardized biometric variance components?

If you want them for the path coefficients, see my post in this other thread: http://openmx.psyc.virginia.edu/thread/2835 .

If you want them for the variance components, try adding something like the following to either your MZ-twin or DZ-twin submodel (it should not matter which):

mxMatrix(type="Full",nrow=3,ncol=1,free=T,values=.6,labels=c("a","c","e"),name="ace"),
mxAlgebra( (ace%^%2) %x% solve(t(ace)%*%ace), name="StdVarComp",dimnames=list(c("a2","c2","e2"),NULL) ),
mxCI("StdVarComp"),

I am assuming here that the single-headed paths going from the latent A, C, and E to the manifest variables are respectively labeled "a", "c", and "e", as in UnivariateTwinAnalysis_PathRaw.R . Also, depending on where in the mxModel() statement you put this code, you might need to delete that last comma. Then, when you use mxRun(), be sure to include argument intervals=TRUE. You can see the CIs in the output from summary(twinACEFit) or whatever.